2014 BTC Cup Nominations Released

April 30th, 2014

A particularly talented field of 15 has been nominated for an appearance in the major 2014 Group 1 BTC Cup (1200m) at Brisbane’s Doomben Racecourse on May 10th, highlight by several big-name entrants and winners at the highest level of Australian racing.

Snitzerland has been included in nominations for the 2014 BTC Cup

Snitzerland has been included in nominations for the 2014 BTC Cup. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia

Breaking through for a maiden Group 1 victory first-up in 2014, Snitzerland has been included in nominations for the 2014 BTC Cup.

Securing eight race wins and six places from only twenty competitive starts so far, Snitzerland was arguably one of the most successful horses yet secure a Group 1 title prior to her current preparation; finishing just off that pace in no fewer than five tilts.

Leading from start to finish to claim the Group 1 Black Caviar Lightning Stakes (1000m) first-up on February 15th, the Snitzel mare was unlucky when second in the Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1000m) on March 15th, and while unable to handle the heavy going of the Group 1 T.J. Smith Stakes (1000m), posted an ideal start to her Brisbane tenure when placing third in the well-contested Group 2 Victory Stakes (1200m) last time out.

Also breaking through for a maiden Group 1 victory in 2014, Spirit Of Boom has been included in nominations for the 2014 BTC Cup.

Placing sixth in the 2013 edition of the BTC Cup, Spirit Of Boom laid an assault on five races over the 2013 Spring Racing Carnival; finishing outside the places on just one occasion and winning the Group 2 Caulfield Sprint (1100m) most notably.

One of the most consistent performers of 2014 so far, the Sequalo entire was unlucky when second in both the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) first-up and Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) before finishing a short nose in the clear to win the Group 1 William Reid Stakes (1200m) on March 21st.

Finishing second to stable mate and fellow BTC Nominee Temple Of Boom in the Victory Stakes last time out, trainer Tony Gollan is expecting a strong winter carnival from Spirit Of Boom this year and is confident of his chances in the BTC Cup.

Champion of the 2012 edition of the Group 1 The Galaxy, Temple Of Boom continued on a largely competitive path, but was unable to again find the line first until claiming the Victory Stakes as a rank outsider last time out.

Displaying a keen turn of foot consistent with a far younger race horse in that event, Gollan has re-assed the path for the Piccolo gelding over winter and is looking good for a run at the quinella in the 2014 BTC Cup.

Standout Queenslander throughout 2013, Buffering was unlucky not to claim a major victory over the winter, but responded in the best way possible by finishing second in the Group 1 Moir Stakes (1200m) before claiming three incredible back-to-back victories in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m), Group 1 VRC Sprint Classic (1200m) and Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m).

Finishing third in particularly poor conditions and behind the world’s leading sprinter Lankan Rupee in the T.J. Smith last time out, trainer Robert Heathcote is particularly confident of securing the BTC Cup in his home state this year.

Yet to finish outside the places in six starts this time in, Knoydart has arguably returned to the track in career best form in 2014; winning each of his first three starts which included the Listed Canterbury Classic (1100m) and Listed Hareeba Stakes (1200m) before finishing a competitive third in each of the Oakleigh Plate and Newmarket Handicap.

Unable to catch fellow BTC Cup nominee Hot Snitzel in the Group 3 Hall Mark Stakes (1200m) last time out, trainer Peter Snowden is confident the More Than Ready gelding’s class will shine through in next weekend’s feature race.

Ladbrokes.com.au is currently offering the best odds on all 2014 winter races, including the BTC Cup!

Open an account and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to claim a bonus bet of up to $250!

2014 BTC Cup Nominations

# Horse Trainer
1 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote
2 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith
3 HOT SNITZEL Gerald Ryan
4 KNOYDART John O’Shea
5 LONDEHERO Matthew Dunn
6 PERON John P Thompson
7 PLUCKY BELLE Peter G Moody
8 RIVER LAD Natalie Mccall
9 SIDESTEP John O’Shea
10 SNITZERLAND Gerald Ryan
11 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan
12 STARTSMEUP Bruce W Hill
13 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan
14 THE WHITE HOPE Matthew Dunn
15 TIGER TEES (NZ) Joseph Pride