Sea Siren Wins 2012 BTC Cup

May 12th, 2012

John O’Shea-trained filly Sea Siren has beaten a host of older horses to take top honours in the Group 1 $500,000 2012 BTC Cup at Doomben today.

As predicted pre-race, local gelding Adebisi set the early speed and Sea Siren, ridden by Jim Cassidy, was able to sit behind her for the majority of the race before peeling to the front.

The daughter of Fasnet Rock showed remarkable speed at the back end of the race to gallop away and win by a length ahead of Scenic Blast and Beaded.

Trainer John O’Shea will now take the star filly to the Doomben 10,000 in two weeks time and then the $1 million Stradbroke Handicap which he elected to target instead of the Group 1 races in Sydney in the autumn.

“I’ll get her home now and see how she is and then run her in the 10,000,” O’Shea said.

Jockey Cassidy did not have to work too hard on the talented youngster and he was full of praise for the training efforts of O’Shea.

“A great training performance. He set this filly for the Stradbroke instead of going through Sydney,” Cassidy said.

“One hell of a trainer, marvellous training performance.”

Sea Siren will carry one of the lightest weights in the field in the Stradbroke Handicap and Cassidy is looking forward to riding her.

“51.5kg, I’ll be doing it a little bit tough but I’ve found a good one so it’ll be worth it,” Cassidy said.

Dan Morton-trained seven-year-old Scenic Blast produced a strong showing to finish runner-up while last year’s Doomben 10,000 winner Beaded finished third.

For the best betting on the rest of the Group 1 races this winter, be sure to sign up at

Quote the code BONUSBET when opening a new account today to take advantage of their amazing $300 bonus bet offer!

BTC Cup 2012 – Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 15 SEA SIREN John O’Shea Jim Cassidy 5 55kg $7.50
2 2 SCENIC BLAST Daniel Morton Shane Scriven 1.3L 1 58.5kg $21
3 11 BEADED Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 1.4L 7 56.5kg $6.50
4 12 VARENNA MISS Tony Noonan Jim Byrne 3.7L 4 56.5kg $7.50
5 7 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan Ric McMahon 4L 2 58.5kg $13
6 8 ADEBISI Desleigh Forster Chris Munce 4.2L 11 58.5kg $13
7 5 WOORIM Robert Heathcote Damian Browne 6.2L 6 58.5kg $6F
8 6 NEESON Joseph Pride Corey Brown 6.3L 8 58.5kg $7
9 4 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan James McDonald 7.1L 13 58.5kg $8
10 13 ELITE FALLS John O’Shea Larry Cassidy 9.4L 12 55kg $21
11 1 BLACK PIRANHA Con Karakatsanis Paul Hammersley 9.6L 3 58.5kg $41
12 14 SATIN SHOES Clarry Conners Blake Shinn 12.1L 9 55kg $26
13 10 FACILE TIGRE Jason McLachlan Brad Rawiller 14.1L 10 58.5kg $12